GENERAL DISCUSSIONS

pass the word: 2nd fan site makes it onto SPAMMER domain list

POSTED BY: CHIPMUNK
UPDATED: Thursday, January 26, 2006 07:45
SHORT URL:
VIEWED: 1076
PAGE 1 of 1

Thursday, January 26, 2006 7:45 AM

CHIPMUNK


Just spotted an email from one of my converts in my spam box. Why was it blocked? The domain "fireflyseason2.com" has made it onto a major spammer domain name blocklist. Grrrr, argh!

In early September, "whedon.info" made it onto a different blocklist. That interfered with many folks' legitimate efforts to share info, during the lead-up to the BDM release. I had sent out an email with a link to the way-cool "Women of Serenity" picture pages on Whedon info, to a carefully selected list of single (non-gay) male friends who I figured would be intrigued enough (erm, salivating) to see it.

Alas, none received it, and by the time I found out, Serenity had left the theaters in most of their areas. How many of them would have taken a chance and seen the movie? How many other people would they have dragged along for subsequent viewings?

Please, please, please, be very careful when promoting our love! Sending a promo to even one "spamtrap" email address is enough to get on some lists. Spamming may seem like a great way to get the word out, but it really only harms the good guys.

Plus, all spammers go to the Special Hell. The one reserved for child molesters and FOX executives who axe murder good TV shows.

I'm sure it's just a few well meaning fans, but it has to stop.
Pass the word.



NOTIFY: Y   |  REPLY  |  REPLY WITH QUOTE  |  TOP  |  HOME  

YOUR OPTIONS

NEW POSTS TODAY

USERPOST DATE

OTHER TOPICS

DISCUSSIONS
76th Independent Battalion Part 48
Fri, September 25, 2020 10:13 - 2245 posts
STAR TREK: Lower Decks
Mon, September 21, 2020 19:39 - 13 posts
Brenda? Are You Watching FBI: Most Wanted?
Fri, September 18, 2020 14:05 - 27 posts
I think we've lost Oonjerah
Thu, September 10, 2020 20:40 - 8 posts
Firefly gun video
Fri, September 4, 2020 22:47 - 6 posts
Wow, 5 Star Trek Original Series Actors In 1 TV episode!
Thu, August 27, 2020 16:38 - 6 posts
Thread of Font Colors
Thu, August 13, 2020 18:22 - 28 posts
A Conversation with Nathan Fillion at ComiCon@home
Tue, July 28, 2020 17:45 - 5 posts
Watched the pilot again a couple nights ago... what...how...?
Mon, July 27, 2020 14:39 - 18 posts
Thread of GIFs
Thu, July 23, 2020 14:54 - 9 posts
PES 2021 in stores at an absolute bargain price
Fri, July 17, 2020 00:02 - 1 posts
Joss Whedon to direct 'Glee'
Wed, July 15, 2020 19:58 - 26 posts

FFF.NET SOCIAL