"Aliens, you know, that's something everybody else has done and is doing. It's a great metaphor to play with, but it's not what I'm interested in. I'm really interested in 'you are there,' in 'you are a part of this.' And I think aliens take you out of that. I also need to spend some time away from latex." - Joss Whedon
A somewhat unorthodox approach, we are attempting to contact the registrant of this domain to no avail. If you are the owner of FIREFLYFANS.NET, we are contacting all community representatives of the Firefly/Serenity target market.
In order for this web portal to participate in a near future press release, please reply to press@event2012entertainment.com as soon as possible to confirm your interest.
Thank you in advance, and we apologize for the inconvenience of this post.
Administrator, thank you for clarifying your lack of interest in this regard. You may remove this account at this time.
To the community members who posted in this thread, thank you for your interest. This matter is in regards to a Serenity brand licensing effort, not 2012. We will be offering future press releases to partnering fan sites in the coming months.
ECGORDON There's no place I can be, since I found Serenity
Thursday, August 27, 2009 - 02:27
Quote: Originally posted by event2012entertainment: Administrator, thank you for clarifying your lack of interest in this regard. You may remove this account at this time.
To the community members who posted in this thread, thank you for your interest. This matter is in regards to a Serenity brand licensing effort, not 2012. We will be offering future press releases to partnering fan sites in the coming months.
Best to all.
How can we have any interest in something until we get some details? If it truly is Serenity related then most people here will be interested. Also, if you are a Serenity/Firefly fan then you should have already known who the administrator of this site is. Fireflyfans.net has been online since March of 2002, several months before the official FOX site was created, and it is the most active site devoted to the show.
K well did the alliance cut into everyones brain pan here except mine?! The guy said he tried to get ahold of the admin here "to no avail", then posted his email twice asking the admin to contact him. I dunno, but genius did you DO IT?!
He SAID he's gonna do a press release AFTER he talks to the admin, dont take a reader to figure it out!
I dont know who Event2012 Entertainment is, but if theyre another Blizzard, you just blew it. Why on earth are you lecturing an entertainment company on whether or not he is a serenity fan?! The dude stated to email him hes under non-disclosure agreement. FOX doesnt like Serenity either, would you treat them like shit as well?
No wonder opportunities for a reincarnation keeps getting blown.
WASHNWEAR
"Who is this Vod K'Nockers of which you speak?"
Thursday, August 27, 2009 - 17:49
Quote: Originally posted by verenity: OMG!
K well did the alliance cut into everyones brain pan here except mine?! The guy said he tried to get ahold of the admin here "to no avail", then posted his email twice asking the admin to contact him. I dunno, but genius did you DO IT?!
He SAID he's gonna do a press release AFTER he talks to the admin, dont take a reader to figure it out!
I dont know who Event2012 Entertainment is, but if theyre another Blizzard, you just blew it. Why on earth are you lecturing an entertainment company on whether or not he is a serenity fan?! The dude stated to email him hes under non-disclosure agreement. FOX doesnt like Serenity either, would you treat them like shit as well?
No wonder opportunities for a reincarnation keeps getting blown.
Okay - while we're at it, let's see your birth certificate!
But seriously, verenity, this 2012 person's posts put my in mind of someone who calls me as a wrong number, and the first question out of their mouth is "Who is this?" My natural response to that is, "You called me, pal - what's your name and shoe size?"
Jayne prob'ly woulda menaced 'em with a big knife by now...
Smells like a huge old scam to me. Good on Haken for telling this guy to buzz off.
Trust me if they were going to revive the series they wouldn't care about whether fans site administrators want to help promote it. That's already assumed. If there's a press release about Serenity 2 don't you think the link will show up here in a matter of minutes?
Looking at the response time of Hakan's post before the Event 2012 guy asked to be deleted as a member, it looks to me like there was more than enough time for the two to talk over e-mail. I doubt the guy left because of apparent negative reception, he won't have waited a whole day.
ECGORDON There's no place I can be, since I found Serenity
Friday, August 28, 2009 - 01:39
Quote: Originally posted by verenity: Well with all the hostile comments for the world to read, I guess we'll never know.
Nice to meet ya, verenity. But just so you know, we're not likely to take your comments very seriously considering you just signed up today and quite possibly are connected to the OP in some way. If that is not the case, then I apologize for my tone, but I don't think any of us have reason to apologize to the OP.
In any case, as the rest of us have said, if we see details then we'll know if we're interested. Until then, don't waste our time.
That sounds like the Alliance... Unite all the fansites under one rule, so that everybody can be interfered-with or ignored equally (guess that's what the 'universal' stands for in UNIVERSAL).
Anyways, verenity, ain't nobody canceling Serenity 2 over some replies on a board, trust me. No more than they are bringing back Firefly for the selfsame reason. If only! And as for the 2012 dude, I can't help but see this end in: "Now all I need is your credit card number."
And if the Alliance wanted Mr. Haken to see reason, they shouldn't have sent someone who doesn't even know who the admin of this site is. Cuz that level of ignorance even frightens the women!
-- "Mei-mei, everything I have is right here." -- Simon Tam
Quote: Originally posted by ecgordon: Nice to meet ya, verenity. But just so you know, we're not likely to take your comments very seriously considering you just signed up today and quite possibly are connected to the OP in some way. If that is not the case, then I apologize for my tone, but I don't think any of us have reason to apologize to the OP.
In any case, as the rest of us have said, if we see details then we'll know if we're interested. Until then, don't waste our time.
wo men ren ran zai fei xing.
Im a long standing member here under another alias, obviously my instincts served me well. You and I have talked before, and no your apology is not accepted.
Someone has to stand up for believers in here, and show we're not all pretentious. It is nice to know that we don't take the comments of new members seriously, or give new producers the benefit of the doubt. Lets think before we post. Im starting to smell reavers.
JRNYFAN Jayne: "...I think I really made a difference in their lives. You know -- me, Jayne Cobb."
Mal: “I know your name, jackass.”
Friday, August 28, 2009 - 07:19
Let me get this straight. A heretofor unknown 'entertainment' company creates an account and makes a post about a secret 'announcement' that they are trying to get out by way of all the fansites and complains that they don't know the who the admin is and the admin won't respond. (If the alleged Alliance member masquerading as an 'entertainment' company doesn't know who the admin of FFF.net is then they aren't part of the goram Alliance.) Then the admin of this site makes a post saying what amounted to '...ok?' and the 'entertainment' company throws a fit and demands to be removed as a user. Then you have another new account created that begins defending (rather loudly I might add) the 'entertainment' company in question by insinuating that every single member on this board is not a fan.
And how is this not be construed as a scam? Verenity you don't have a leg to stand on.
Thus the eternal problem of the interwebz, anyone can say anything at anytime about anything.
p.s. I did airquotes everytime I typed 'entertainment' company, just thought y'all needed to know
I saw this thread when it started. OP had asked for the admin's contact info, maybe that OP has been edited since. Haken responded with wariness, didn't ID himself as admin, we don't know if he contacted the OP at the email provided, but he didn't provide admin email in plain simple-speak for the OP.
The Op did state they should be contacted if admin was interested. WE have no information that such interest was relayed, certainly was not in this thread.
The contact information for the admin of this site can be found off of the info link from the main page. It leads to a contact form with an email address provided. So, Haken didn't really have to reply with his email address because it's an RTFM issue.
At any rate, the OP does certainly wreak scam or similar. And honestly. If someone was really trying to get the word out on a project that would earn them lots of cashy money, would they really put in such little effort into getting that word out? This whole thing is just down right unsettling.
---- I am on The Original List (twice). We are The Forsaken and we aim to burn! "We don't fear the reaper"
The number of times this site has been hacked should also be taken into consideration, and give everyone (especially Haken) reason to be a little wary.
All FIREFLY related
graphics and photos on this page are copyright 2002-2009 Mutant Enemy, Inc.,
Universal Pictures, and 20th
Century Fox.
All other graphics and texts are copyright of the contributors to this website.
This website IS NOT
affiliated with the Official Firefly Site, Mutant Enemy, Inc., or 20th Century Fox. FIREFLYFANS.NET is part of the SHINY UNIVERSE NETWORK